Searching for a new job

Here’s a random thought. I tend to live in the clouds. My dreams and aspirations are just much bigger than the average person’s vision. Ever since I was about 20 years old I have been desiring something greater than the corporate job path. It’s actually much bigger than the self-dependent business owner path also. I have always dreamed of living a life where I can wake up when my body says it is time to get up and going to sleep when my eyes and brain are ready to relax. To some this may sound like the life of a lazy person, but to me it sounds like the life of someone who is uniquely gifted to the see opportunity of every moment.

I’ll set the record straight by saying that I do not have a problem with my current career choice. I think that there are definitely some cool jobs in the marketplace and I have one of them. I guess the bigger idea for me to try and convey is that I believe that everyone has a calling in life. Sometimes our calling is for a season and sometimes our calling is for a lifetime. I believe that our jobs are directly related to our calling in life. I believe that my calling in life is much bigger than any of the jobs that I have previously done. However, every past job has prepared me for the next role that I must take on.

The reason why I am writing my expressions on my word press is because I want this post to be marked as evidence that I was always a believer. I have notes that date back to the early 2000s, but it has been years since I’ve made a mention of anything concerning this topic. Recently, my mind has began to wander beyond the realms of my current role and I am wondering what is next. Like I said, some jobs are just for a season. It is possible that my season is not over yet, but some day it shall come to pass. I want to be ready for that day.

The secondary reason why I am sharing this note is because I want to inspire others. My progression from an unskilled, uneducated, entry-level employee into a mid-level manager is nothing but miraculous. And let me also clarify that I use the title “mid-level manager” loosely because I cannot begin to explain what my job is really about. I did not do this myself; many people have inspired me to take a leap of faith and just do what my spirit says is the right thing. For some time I was concerned that if I pursued my current career then I would be ignoring my calling, but it turns out that my career has helped me respond to my calling. I guess the wisdom of this paragraph is that you have to keep your eyes open and be willing to accept new horizons before you will ever find yourself in a new place.

So to end this post let me clarify the meaning of the title. People sometimes say that they are looking for a new job, but if they stick with the notion that each person has calling then the truth is this: One does not search for a new job. A new job searches for he or she who chooses to be found.

How’s that for philosophical thinking?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

