Do you have a spare tape deck?

Cassette Tape [Image}

Remember this!

Music has always been a joyful hobby of mine. As a kid I would sit on the floor listening to tapes, CDs, and the radio for hours with the headphones on. I always wondered how someone goes about making a song. Do they start with the lyrics or do they begin with a melody and how do they decide which instruments to use? It was all just so intriguing to me.  I also used to constantly ask my mom why we I can copy a CD onto a tape but the tape won’t copy onto the CD. I figured that all they needed to do was add one of those neat little record buttons and it should all work just right. When computer audio starting to become a big deal I was in awe. Of course, on the dial-up AOL connection it would take 30 minutes to download one 3 minute song.

Anyhow, the good o’ days of cassette tapes and Compact Disks are pretty much a thing of the past, but I have always been a mastermind for putting together fun playlist. Whenever I hear people complain about how MP3 technology is leading to increased piracy I just think, “So recording songs straight off the radio onto a cassette tape was not considered piracy?” I guess the ease of access and potential profit loss has everyone throwing a fit over spilled milk. But in my opinion, people have been sharing free music since the age of recorded time. If they had to pay for every song created, there would not be many songs created.

So the goal was to make a mixtape that describes who I am. I searched all day and this is the list that I have come up with.

Oh Happy Day – Sister Act 2

How to Save a Life – The Fray

Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson

I Smile – Kirk Franklin

2 Legit 2 Quit – MC Hammer

Why don’t we just dance – Josh Turner

Lily in the valley – John P. Kee

Don’t Rush – K-Ci & JoJo

Differences – Ginuwine

Stand by me – Prince Royce

When It’s Over – Hands On

Lonely Road – ZG

Maybe you learned something new about me today. Or maybe you discovered a new song to add to your playlist. Just be glad that I did not hand you this mixtape recorded on a real cassette tape…you probably don’t have a tape deck. Or do you?

Check out this video by ZG for the song “Lonely Road.” I was looking for the one song that could represent my life…and I think this one fits pretty well.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/daily-prompt-music-2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you have a spare tape deck?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song

Leave a Reply

