Make up your own dance

Image

Music inspires us to move in ways that cannot be described in words.

Describe what it feels like to hear a beautiful piece of music or see a stunning piece of art.

Beauty is in the eyes or ears of the beholder. I am a music fanatic. Since childhood I have always been inspired by sounds, melodies, rhythms, beats, harmonies, and lyrics. When I hear a beautiful piece of music my heart starts to thump differently. It’s almost like I can feel the blood pulsing harder through my body and my chest gets heavy and warm. It is one of the best feelings that I can ever experience. An example of one of those songs that makes my heart beat differently is “Over my head” by The Fray. I really enjoy the lyrics and I love the way the song begins with just the tapping beat. The video just makes it that much better. Great song.

As I listen pulled up that song on youtube I began to wonder, “How would I dance to this song?” So many people equate dancing to a specific style or set of choreographed and rhythmic movements, but I think that dancing can be any kind of movement inspired by music. Dance is the outward expression of emotions. Today, I realized that I have been dancing the dances that popular society wants me to dance at the expense of my own emotional expression. From now on, I will consider dancing my own moves every so often.

Here’s the video for “Over my head” by The Fray.

Click to see what inspired today’s post?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make up your own dance

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Eye of The Beholder – Poem / Poetry – “Acoustiscal Tonic” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: ACCOUSTICAL TONIC | hastywords

Leave a Reply

